Managing Lots of NPCs

Among the games I’m currently running is a D&D 3.5 campaign with only two players — my wife and our son (they are each running two PC’s). Both because there are only two players, and because the module I’m using (Expedition to the Ruins of Castle Greyhawk) presents a rich urban setting with lots of NPCs, I’m facing the prospect of having to role play potentially dozens of recurring NPCs. 

To help myself out, and hopefully avoid lots of “so and so, says . . .” I’m trying something new. For each major NPC I’m preparing an index card. One side has the NPC’s name and a picture (some are illustrations from the module that I was able to download, some are photos of celebrities or random people I found online that I decided had similar looks). Whenever I start speaking as one of these characters I will simply hold up the card with the name and picture facing the players so they know whom they are talking to.

The back of each card will have brief character notes for me. In many cases this will include a simple character quirk that I can role play (though with this many NPCs I don’t want all of them to talk or act funny). 

What do folks think of this approach? How have you managed (or seen DM’s manage) lots of NPCs?

2 thoughts on “Managing Lots of NPCs

  1. I did that once upon a time…basic stats on one side…important notes on the other. The trick is how to best organize them…by location, relationship, alphabetically.

Leave a Reply

